Jessica Sautter has a Bachelor’s Degree from Eastern Michigan University in Elementary Education with a Major in Reading and a Minor in Mathematics.

Full Bio →

Written by

Natasha McLachlan is a writer who currently lives in Southern California. She is an alumna of California College of the Arts, where she obtained her B.A. in Writing and Literature. Her current work revolves around auto insurance guides and informational articles. She truly enjoys helping others learn more about everyday, practical matters through her work.

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Natasha McLachlan
Content Writer

UPDATED: Jun 11, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about car insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything car insurance-related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by car insurance experts.

Key takeaways...

  • A D6 suspension means you can’t legally drive
  • You must show up in court, pay any fees, and meet other requirements from the court to clear the D6 suspension
  • It’s a good idea to consult an attorney with experience in D6 cases

For those living in Florida, you may have heard about a D6 form when it comes to the suspension of a driving license. If you don’t show up, you may be hit with a D6 Suspension.

You’ll have to get a D 6 Clearance Form in order to reinstate a suspended license.

If you’ve had a D6 suspension and want to find a way to save some on your car insurance, you can get free quotes by using our free tool above.

What is a D6 Suspension?

If you have been cited for criminal activity or a civil traffic violation and fail to appear in court or fail to pay your fines, the court has the option to suspend your driver’s license by issuing a D6 form.

NOLO notes that unpaid traffic citations can lead to late fees, collection agency involvement, and license suspension, which is a given if you don’t show up to the court date.

A D6 suspension means that until the circumstances are cleared up, you cannot legally drive a vehicle in the state of Florida.

How do you know if your driver’s license is suspended or if your license is valid? If you’re unsure about the status of your driver’s license, you can do a Florida driver’s license check on the Florida Highway Safety and Traffic Administration‘s website.

You can’t reinstate a Florida driver’s license online, but you can prepare by using the Florida Highway Safety and Traffic Administration’s website. 

It’s important to be aware that your rates are probably going to go up. Look below for a few common violations that cause a big increase in your car insurance.

Rates by Driving Record
Driving RecordClean recordWith 1 accidentWith 1 DUIWith 1 speeding violation
USAA$1,933.68$2,516.24$3,506.03$2,193.25
GEICO$2,145.96$3,192.77$4,875.87$2,645.43
State Farm$2,821.18$3,396.01$3,636.80$3,186.01
American Family$2,693.61$3,722.75$4,330.24$3,025.74
Nationwide$2,746.18$3,396.95$4,543.20$3,113.68
Progressive$3,393.09$4,777.04$3,969.65$4,002.28
Farmers$3,460.60$4,518.73$4,718.75$4,079.01
Travelers$3,447.69$4,289.74$5,741.40$4,260.80
Allstate$3,819.90$4,987.68$6,260.73$4,483.51
Liberty Mutual$4,774.30$6,204.78$7,613.48$5,701.26
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

This video from Liberty Mutual talks a little about how your driving record will cost you on car insurance rates.

The D6 is entirely up to the discretion of the court and may be issued depending on some circumstances. However, for those who do not appear in court for their case or do not pay the fines that are owed, a D6 may be issued.

Do you need a D6 clearance form?

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

How to Get a D6 Clearance in Florida

What is a D6 clearance form? A D6 clearance letter is required to restore your driver’s license. In order to get a D6 clearance form in Florida, you must demonstrate that the issues which caused your D6 suspension have been fully addressed. How do you get a D6 clearance form? In order to get a Florida DMV D6 clearance form, you must do the following;

  • Appear in Court
  • Pay All Fines
  • Meet the Requirements that the Court has Issued

Once you have fulfilled your obligations, the court will provide a clearance form that will be recognized by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).

This is true for all of Florida, whether you need a D6 clearance form in Orange County or a D6 clearance form in Palm Beach County.

Here’s a video from the Law Office of Finebloom, Haenel, and Higgins, P.A. talking about what happens if you get a D6 suspension.

Other than that, are there any other places where you can get a D6 clearance form? Can you get a D6 clearance online? You can find a D6 clearance form pdf online to look over if you wish. You will need to fill out the D-6 clearance form pdf, then you will need to take the form to the DHSMV so they will process it before reinstating your suspended Florida driver’s license.

It should be noted that the system of D6 clearance Florida residents believe may not be the same as the actual process. Many people think that simply paying the penalty will alleviate the suspension. However, paying the penalty is stating your guilt to the offense which may trigger another suspension of your driver’s license.

The best course of action is usually to consult with a criminal defense attorney who is experienced with issues concerning suspended driver’s licenses first. They can inform you of the specific circumstances of your reported case as D6 and provide the appropriate response. This is because your record will need to be reviewed as well as your background checked to see what response is appropriate.

By using a criminal defense attorney to represent you in court, they can ask for the court date so that you can keep driving while the citation is being fought. At the hearing, the attorney may request a dismissal or withholding adjudication so that you are not convicted and therefore do not add any points to your record.

This action will also avoid another suspension of your driver’s license.

The first and most important step to follow are:

For those who are facing a suspension of their driver’s license due to a D6, the first course of action should be to consult with an experienced defense attorney that specializes in such cases. By taking this step, you can avoid further complicating the situation and perhaps cause another suspension of your driver’s license down the road.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Frequently Asked Questions

If you have more questions about your D6 suspension, we’ve added a few more below.

How much is the D6 clearance fee?

The Murphy Law Group notes the fees for clearing a D6 suspension, including $60 if you received a D6 for a traffic fine. D6 forms in Florida, whether a D6 clearance form in Hillsborough county or d6 clearance form in Manatee County, will require this fee and possibly extra court costs.

Do you need car insurance with a suspended license?

If you have a suspended license in Florida, you can still get car insurance if you didn’t have it prior. Florida is the number one state in the country for uninsured drivers. The Insurance Information Institute reports that 26.7 percent of drivers in Florida are uninsured. That’s one out of every four people on the road. If you’re one of them, make sure you get covered, as it is illegal to drive without insurance.

You’ll need to get at least the minimum required by Florida. AAA Digest of Motor Laws breaks it down. You’ll need:

  • $10,000 for one person’s bodily injury
  • $20,000 for total bodily injury
  • $10,000 for property damage
  • $30,000 total property damage per accident

If you already have insurance and can’t drive, you may want to call your insurer and see what your options are. Depending on your circumstances, you may be eligible for comprehensive-only coverage if your car is sitting in the driveway until you can get licensed again. If you have extra coverage, you may be able to lower your limits and raise the deductible. Always check with your insurer to see what your options are.

If you’ve found that your rates are increasing because of your citation, you can get free quotes from multiple insurers to save some money. Enter your ZIP code below to save.